Chase your dreams…?

So hard to know…
I’ve been pondering this message a lot lately: “Chase your dreams.” AKA, pursue what you’re passionate about, do what you love, etc. So I get all inspired and ready to run off and pursue something I REALLY love and/or something that sounds amazing…and then I remember. This is real life. There are big picture goals that sometimes mean sacrificing things along the way. There are times you have to think of others instead of simply what you want to do.
So I’m torn between these two. I hear of opportunities that sound like more of what I want to do, or simply sound like amazing things I”ve dreamed about…but is it worth the risk and sacrifice of leaving where I’m at now? It would make changes for my family. It would require some hard decisions about the current degree I’m pursuing. It would mean giving up the security of a job and an education that is paid for. Those are things some people would kill for…could I really just give them up?
Now what do I do? Do I dream? Or do I stay firmly grounded where I’m at?
4 thoughts on “Chase your dreams…?

  1. Wow, interesting write. I think that life isn’t life if we are just doing whatever it takes to get by. I think that there is more to living then just being alive. If you really, in your heart, know that you want to pursue something that will benefit you for the better, that will make YOU feel fulfilled then I say take the right step towards doing so one hour at a time. Hell, finish whatever degree you are currently working on and in the meantime work towards taking care of all the little things that paint the bigger picture for your TRUE passions in life. I don’t know if any of this makes any sense. Number one, I am terrible at English……and number two I tend to ramble. ๐Ÿ™‚ Anyway, I am on a whole new journey in life right now. I have only 3 college credits under my belt, I am in debt, I am unemployed and I am still living under my sisters roof. BUT I have faith, for once in my entire life I have faith. Because of this faith, I am not willing to do WHATEVER it takes to get to where I truly feel I belong in this world. My purpose is to help other people, to make sure other people know that there is HOPE and that dreams can come true if we just teach ourselves to believe in something greater than ourselves…….I have never felt worth much in my life until I found a support group and people that have shared their experience, strength, and hope with me and let me know that I am not alone. It is my job to pass it on. We shouldn’t cheat ourselves out of being happy because we are scared about how other people might be affected. God knows I spent my entire life doing that and either way people were never satisfied so I figure it is time now to do what I want to do and to work out the problems that might arise from my choices, as they come. I am learning though, that I cannot help anyone until I help myself. With that being said, I hope that everything works out for the better for you. We deserve to be happy, no matter what the cost.

    • Thank you so much for reading and giving such a thoughtful response! I’m so glad that you are at a place where you are pursuing your dreams, pursuing self-care, and pursuing happiness in life. I pray that find the greatest joy life can give! Thanks so much for this great comment. I appreciate your advice and enjoyed learning more about you. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. the wisest thing to do is follow God, though I admit one of my reasons for choosing hospital chaplaincy over youth ministry (for now) is because it pays more and they actually accepted me. Plus, sometimes God redirect your life, away from what you would think, and into something more real and concrete. I would have liked to be in a serious relationship or married right now, but it seems as if God has other plans for my life for the time being. It doesnt make me unfaithful, it makes life real, and gritty, and when we can praise God despite the changes and confusion, I think that is real faith my friend.

    With that said, maybe God wants you in your current place so later you can pursue your dreams, of course, maybe God desires you to drop everything and follow Him. It is difficult to answer and only you and God can figure that one out, but friends and family could certainly offer some advice :.)

Leave a Reply

