Rambling…->Community

Well, here I sit. I’m not really sure what I want to write about, but I felt like writing somehow. I had my Intro to Professional Counseling class (essentially an ethics course) after work, and we got out early–which is normally awesome! But I also have an 8:00 course…so…I went back to my office and am sitting here till my second class starts. Perhaps we’ll get out early, too, and I won’t have to stay till 10:30. *crosses fingers*

I was trying to think of some great, witty, insightful, and/or deep topic to write about. I got nothing. The closest thing I could come up with was community. Lots of us live within communities: we have neighborhoods, schools, office environments, church congregations, families, and many other things that would fulfill the basic definition of “community.” But I think, if we looked deeper, we find that we’re lacking more than we realize.

Do we just have people we encounter every day, or do we have people we experience life with? Are we surrounded by people, or do we surround ourselves with people we care about? Do we expect people to make time to get to know us, or do we take the time to get to know them as we also share of ourselves?

All this to say: life gets pretty lonely without community. And by community, I mean people with whom you can really dig in and plow through life together. It (life) can be hard. We need those people who want to be doing it with us. We need people with the same heart, similar purposes, and parallel values. We need people to walk along side us. And if we don’t have them, we need to start finding them. Because we all need someone beside us on this journey.

Or at least I do. How about you?

Leave a Reply

