Pondering the Status

If you’re anything like me, you ponder your status in life. And by that, I mean THE status…the Facebook status. (Twitter updates are also acceptable.)

I joke about it, but I do spend time thinking about what I want to update my status to be. Will it be something funny that happened that day? A witty thought? Some clever, deep, insightful comment? A verse or quote I love, a song lyric stuck in my head? It’s to the point where circumstances and my thoughts just become more food for statuses to be put on Facebook or Twittered about. (Let’s pretend that’s comical rather than pathetic, ok? K.)

So tonight, I had just finished reading a great book called Crazy Love. And I was trying to figure out how to put the millions of thoughts and emotions I had into a status. I had just read dozens of thought-provoking, deep, challenging statements and ideas…which one was worthy to be entered into a text box and shared with all my friends?

And somehow the result ended up being…I couldn’t let my next status be about me. The only appropriate response I could think of was to use my status to see what I could somehow do for someone else. My status ended up simply being: “How could I pray for you today?”

It’s too easy to spend my day contemplating what my status is or will be. But I can’t think of a better way to spend my day than focusing more on the status of other people’s lives, rather than my own.

 

Leave a Reply

