Ellie’s Escapades

So, in a previous post, I have introduced you to my puppy Ellie. She is a delightful little dog, full of energy and fun and personality…and  Houdini-like talent for escaping.

Seriously.

She’s a 15 pound dog and broke a leash that’s supposed to hold a 110 pound dog. What. The. Heck.

Who, me? But I am a cute little puppy who can do no wrong...
Who, me? But I am a cute little puppy who can do no wrong…

Let’s rewind a little. I had to go back to Abilene for a doctor’s appointment on Friday. I cut the planned weekend trip down to just 24 hours of being gone. I figured Ellie could survive on the porch for one night till I returned. Well, when I pull back up, I see a dangling leash that has clearly been snapped in half.

I thought I was going to be sick. My precious puppy has gotten loose in the middle of nowhere with lots of land and goats and other animals. I have no idea where she is.  Fortunately, the couple at the farmhouse here had seen her out on the road an hour ago, so I drove down that way. And there she is. Standing in the middle of the road, starting at my oncoming car. Not till I roll down my window and yell “Ellie!” does she come running. Her tail’s waggling and she’s wiggling and jumping on me and so excited. I’m frustrated and relieved and happy and back to frustrated (again) that she had managed to get out and bother anyone on the farm.

So after driving back from Abilene, I turn around on Sunday to go drive her to Dallas where I’m going to leave her with my grandparents again. After talking it over with my parents, we considered a way to let her stay with me at the farm and not inconvenience my grandparents. So last-minute we hit Petsmart and buy enough heavy duty leashes, cords, and stakes to tie her down by my little house. And I do mean HEAVY DUTY. The ones that hold dogs over 5x her size.

In a stroke of brilliance, however, the thick cord (to be connected to the stake we’re drilling into the ground) got left at home. It’s ok, I figured tying her up to the porch with her leash (for the 110lb dog) would work for a day or two.

It did. Except I’m not sure it was a whole day before she BREAKS it. AGAIN. Seriously. I dunno if she snapped it or managed to chew up the thickly woven, 2” wide leash; but that’s exactly what happened.

So now, until my cord arrives by mail, I’m doing my best to keep her inside (although she’s not supposed to be inside much, so this often means putting her in the crate) or on a smaller leash when I’m with her and can hold her. Hopefully she will quit her attempts at figuring out a way to re-enact Homeward Bound.

Dear Ellie,

Seriously, girl? Seriously? Please, I’d really like to keep you, but you’re going to make it hard if you keep getting loose and causing problems. I know people say to “think big,” but I’d really you rather think you’re actually 15lbs instead of 100.

Sincerely,

frustrated loving owner

4 thoughts on “Ellie’s Escapades

  1. (Homeward Bound — so good)

    But we’ve got a 50 lb. dog who never knows what size he is. He has tried to fight a bulldog before but has also cowered in fear of a 5 lb. puppy. There’s really no rhyme or reason.

Leave a Reply

