Return from the third-world country of Valdosta

I’m back. I have been internet-less for the last week or so. *Holds up hand* No, don’t rush to comfort me; I’m alright. I have survived. I even had things to do that did not involve internet (shock! I know). I got to read lots, which was lovely. And, most importantly, I spent time with family. That was what this trip was about, visiting my mom’s family. We spent a whole week with my grandparents, doing almost nothing in the sleepy, slow town they live in. I had to go find random restaurants or coffee places that offered free Wi-Fi in order to get online.

Here’s what’s funny: where I lived in Malaysia, I had constant, fast internet access at my home. In Valdosta, a little town in south Georgia of the United States of America…I can hardly find internet to save my life. Yes, I found that little irony humorous too. Some days. Other days it frustrated me. But–must I say it?–life without the internet really is possible. Often enjoyable. I learned I can live without it.

That being said, however, I am thrilled to be connected to the internet again. πŸ™‚ I’m trying to get my bearings and get back into my online worlds a little more again. I have much to tell you. I’ll probably be back to share some more Georgia stories, and I have news about the future to share as it happens. So stay tuned, and check back soon.

That is, as long as you don’t live in an internet-less third-world country. Or south Georgia.

9 thoughts on “Return from the third-world country of Valdosta

  1. The idea of no internet is actually pretty exotic, as long as it’s not too long. I understand how it may drive me crazy too but I’m glad you get to spend time with your family. That’s always important πŸ™‚

  2. too funny. I have come to the conclusion that I could/would rather give up tv, cell phone, maybe even car before I give up internet! I love you world wide web! (hopefully not too much)

    • I dunno, for me it’s probably a toss-up between giving up cell phone or internet. My phone is glued to me! And is my connection to lots of important people. πŸ™‚

  3. Pingback: Limited internet for a time « Katy’s Little Pencil

  4. Pingback: Guess what? Internet! « Katy’s Little Pencil

Leave a Reply

