The good and the bad

Life hurts. There are just parts of it that really suck. Look at enough people’s lives and you’ll find more pain than can fill twice those many lifetimes. There’s always something to hurt over, to cry over, if you care enough to care. Some people’s lives, especially when they’re young, make me want to ask why they have to go through all this.

Some people look at the pain and suffering in the world and say that this serves as proof that there can be no God, or at least not a loving God they would want to worship. Guess what. I believe in a loving God. And I believe in a painful world. I believe in a God who cries over the injustices and pain with us. I also believe in a God who loved us enough to give us free will, who loved us enough not to rob us of that or change everything we did once we ruined the world he gave us. So if we blow things and create a hard world for ourselves, why do we go blame God? We want all the credit for the good things we manage to squeeze out of life, but when our actions contribute to an overall ruining of society, it’s proof that God doesn’t exist. Have enough guts to acknowledge that God can be God over both the good and the bad. Just because you can’t prove him doesn’t mean he’s not there. Who wants a God who fits into a logical equation anyway? I certainly don’t. But I do believe in a God who cancels the equations by allowing us our free will and still finding a way to cause all the evil to somehow work out for an ultimate good.

If I’d created people who constantly were turning away from me to run after their selfish, petty games, I certainly wouldn’t still be trying to redeem what they’ve done. I wouldn’t be trying to redeem them. But he does. I don’t know about you, but I find that pretty amazing.

7 thoughts on “The good and the bad

  1. You are absolutely right. I touch on this topic in my new book “In Pursuit of Joy”( http://inpursuitofjoy2.wordpress.com/ ). People are often reluctant to take personal responsibility for the problems in their life and in the world. You can’t make things better if you don’t take personal responsibility. God has his own agenda which is that in the end the good guys win.

    • Thanks so much for taking the time to read and comment! I look forward to finding out more about your book. Blessings.

  2. Interesting.. I just talked to one of the girls in my youth about the good and the bad this evening .. talk about confessions (from each of us). Though they were generally petty things, the concept opened up a whole lot… mind if I share this with her?

      • Hello Katy, I don’t know if you remember me, but I was a friend of Bobby Flores. That’s just an introduction. I’ve read just about everything I can find that you have written. You are very articulate. Your writings have helped me to find the correct route when I get lost. I can see why they bring alot of comfort to your friends and family. I just wanted to say thank you. and I look forward to seeing more of your written words.
        John

Leave a Reply

