Is it possible? I have a…break?

Ladies and gentlemen, I have had no kid-math to do since Monday evening! I handed my two girls off to another lady on staff, and she/others will be watching them till this Sunday when I come back and take over for part of the week. That night I got to go out and celebrate my birthday along with two other friends who had birthdays close to mine. Where did we have this wild and crazy party? Most definitely at Dairy Queen! (Heck yes. Watch out, world.)

The next morning I drove to visit my family in the Dallas area. It was my sister’s birthday, and she was under the impression that I still had to work till Wednesday (which was the original plan). So she was super surprised when I pulled up, and ran out the door screaming and ended up crying when she hugged me. It was pretty sweet. I can’t believe my baby sis is growing up so fast! We had a good day together with our family, including a home-made birthday cake. (Ok, seriously, there aren’t four people in this world who can go through a birthday cake faster than my family.)

Since then…well, I’ve hardly known what to do with myself. Mostly it involves reading and being online. I’ve been working on the book I mentioned before, Enchantment, and it’s very good. I’m almost done with it, and then my sister is insisting that I read the next three books in the Twilight series. So other than reading, talking with people online, and spending time with my family…um, nope, nevermind. That’s pretty much all I’ve been doing. Oh, and sleep.

Well. Hmmm. What on earth do I have to talk about when I don’t have children as inspiration? I’ll have to work on that.

If you had a few days off, what would you be doing?

New poem on my writing blog: She walked in the night.

7 thoughts on “Is it possible? I have a…break?

  1. I would love to get a cabin in the woods (with AC of course) and during the day just chill and hike around and see nature, feel the cool breeze, eat a sack lunch. Then chill at the cabin and enjoy the view or read a good book, then maybe chill by the fire and watch it until it becomes embers and goes out and I also find myself asleep until I am awakened by the early morning sunlight. To me that would be awesome…

  2. Hello Katy,

    I hope you enjoy the rest of your time off. You’ll miss it when you’re back at work. 🙂

    If I had time off I wish I could be at a warm beach somewhere.

  3. Glad to hear you finally have gotten a break 🙂 Sounds like you have a little bit too much time on your hands now. But that’s always a good thing. I started reading the Twilight series on this past Monday and I’ll be done with the Series either today or tomorrow. Very addicting indeed.

Leave a Reply

