Continued math: now there are 2

6/11: 4 – 1 = 3 girls.

6/12: 3 – 2 = 1 13-yr-old.

6/12: The remaining 1 13-yr-old + 1 set of super-kind house parents = super-happy Katy who has 19 1/2 hours all to herself!

6/13: The remaining 1 13-yr-old + 1 new 5 year old = Katy’s job for the next 56 hours.

Children’s home = more practice at math than I’ve had in a while. (Sad, but true.)

So, all of that math = (I mean, equals) where I am now: I have 2 girls to watch until I get time off. And I am very excited about that time off! Once I found out for sure what my hours would be, once the end was in sight, I literally felt like a load had lifted off me. Last night was especially wonderful because of the afore-mentioned super-kind house parents who agreed to take the 13-yr-old for the evening.

Now, I know the question that is burning in the back of your minds. Katy had 19 1/2 hours with which to do absolutely nothing. What on earth did she do?

I’m so glad you asked. I will tell you:

2:30-5:15 – Watch Disney Channel (yes, really), briefly surf the Internet, and lie on the couch, still watching Disney Channel (yes. really).

5:15-7:30 – Supper with my awesome friend LaShay at Rosa’s. Yes, I totally had three tortillas with nothing but butter and honey.

8:00-11:00 – Randomly surfing through a few tv shows, then concentrated reading time in a new book I got from the library. It’s by one of my favorite authors, Orson Scott Card. I have loved him forever because of his book Ender’s Game, and now I have ventured outside his sci-fi world into the fantasy one. Ladies and gentleman, a possible new favorite book of mine: Enchantment. It is a fascinating, intellectual fairytale-that-clashes-with-the-modern-world story, and I am totally digging it. Not done yet, but I’ll definitely post more of my opinion on this book when I finish it.

11:30 PM – 9:00 AM: SLEEP! I fought it off as long as I could, because I wanted lots of time to read. But I finally gave in, and it was glorious. Also, it was literally the most amount of sleep I have had in two weeks (I had stopped sleeping well, averaging around 6 hours a night as opposed to the 9-10 I need).

And now I’m back to this job I love (a.k.a Preparation to be a Mom 101). The girls and I have had a good day, including lunch at Chick-Fil-A, nap time for the younger girl, and a visit from one of the girls’ moms. Currently, the 13-yr-old is playing with Barbies and the 5-yr-old is listening to Miley Cyrus music videos online (funny how easily they could switch activities and be having just as much fun). I think we may watch a movie a little bit later before bed.

Final piece of math for you: last week + Katy’s time-sheet = the discovery that she worked an 84-hour week. Yes. Really.

I’ll have the two girls for the next few days, and of course I will keep you updated on our adventures.

You’re welcome.

8 thoughts on “Continued math: now there are 2

  1. Wow, so that kind of math blog :.)

    … well, it is good to hear you got some much needed time for yourself. I have found myself watching Disney or Nick for a few hours from time to time myself, usually only stopping because some show I find annoying comes on, lol. Today while doing laundry I watched a couple of hours of Rob:Fantasy Factory in MTV (it was a marathon).

    I would still like to read ENDERS GAME sometimes soon. I really need a good SciFi or Fantasy book to read. My only other book right now sitting on my shelf waiting to be read is Stephen Kings “IT” but I am trying to get through a psychology book I started a month or so ago about adolescent females and issues they face called “Reviving Ophelia: Saving the Selves of Adolescent Girls” by Mary Pipher

    • Yes, a Math Blog. 🙂
      Definitely get around to Ender’s Game sometime soon. The library has it. I have never read any Stephen King books yet.

  2. Hello Katy,

    Wow, you’ve been working a lot.
    At least you got a day off.
    So, what you’re doing is called ‘ Mom 101’ . 🙂 That’s cute. Do you have any tips.

    I haven’t read any of his work before.
    I really like a series of books from Hester Brown. The first in the series is called ‘ The Little Lady Agency’. I loved them. My sister hates them. My mom thinks they’re cute. So, I don’t know if you’ld like it but, if you’re looking for something light and funny you might enjoy it. 🙂

    • Lol, at least I call it Mom 101. Tips? Experience, experience, experience. It’s all about learning, trial, and error. It’s a careful balance between love and discipline.
      Hmm, I haven’t read any from Hester Brown. I will have to look for those! Thanks for the suggestion.

  3. I’m glad you got some time to relax and do your own thing! Ender’s Game is the only Orson Scott Card book I’ve read, when I finish some other series I’m working on, I mean to read the sequels and I’ll definitely keep Enchantment in mind! May you squeal with joy when you get that next pay check!!!

    • Thanks! Definitely looking forward to that paycheck. 🙂
      The sequels to Ender’s Game are ok, but my favorite is its companion novel, Ender’s Shadow. That’s what I’d go with first…it’s just a notch under Ender’s Game on the amazingness scale! And then definitely check out Enchantment.

  4. I can’t believe you watched the Disney Channel on your downtime when you can do that at work!

    Enchantment is definitely going on my list. I had just been wondering what else of Card’s I was going to try.

Leave a Reply

