And then there were four

Two girls left today to go home for the 3 week break, so now I’m down to four girls. Things have been going well. My schedule got changed and instead of just working morning/evenings, I get the girls 24/7. It’s good so that way I’m not running back and forth and am here more consistently. The extra hours also help with saving money. The girls continue to do well. For example, we have guests coming by tomorrow so the girls had to make sure the whole house was clean. With only four, it took a little more time. They all pitched in and were a huge help. They even let me sleep because I’m starting to get sick, mostly from exhaustion.

Other than stuff around the house, we are at the pool a good part of the day. We swim two hours in the afternoon and an hour and a half most evenings. It’s fun and gives the kids something to do. I enjoy it too, although I have nice red arms to show for it. ๐Ÿ™‚ I burn so easily…sigh. It’s fun, although I always am especially on my guard with all the kids at the pool because I want everyone to be safe and not get hurt. There are so many to keep an eye on, especially the little ones. Ha, I feel like a referee half the time with the younger ones! They fight over goggles and intertubes and all sorts of stuff. Fortunately we have a really good life guard, too. It’s funny though ’cause half our teen girls have a crush on him. ๐Ÿ™‚

Let’s see, what else is going on? Hmm. I’ve covered the longer (full-time) hours, what’s going on with the girls, the days at the pool…well I guess most of it has been touched on. I’m sorry this post is kind of boring. I’m a little out of it, so I doubt my writing capabilities are just superb today.

I’m watching Step Up 2 with the girls. (By the way, the last dance sequence in that movie is rockin’ — you should check it out if you haven’t.) It always makes me wish I had taken dance lessons. I wish I could dance like that. I love dancing and always have. I don’t know if a lot of people know that about me, though. I used to choreograph songs and stuff to do at my school, church, functions, etc. I even had a club where I taught girls dances to do and how to work on their own dances. I miss doing that stuff. I should dance more.

What are the things in life you love but don’t do often enough?

Have a great week. I’m gonna finish the movie with my four girls and then go to sleep. I am a huge fan of sleep these days.

4 thoughts on “And then there were four

  1. Sometimes update posts don’t always seem that interesting to me either but it is good to let people know whats up, especially when things are kinda crazy and/or changing quickly.

    What are the things in life you love but donโ€™t do often enough?

    I miss playing my guitar more, but specifically I miss leading worship for people and having worship sessions with my friends when we would hang out sometimes… Sadly, the youth at my church do not seem to care for worship, so I stopped doing it shortly after I started there…

    I also miss playing racquetball.. I used to play a lot and cant find people or the time to get together and play. It is really the only exercise I actually really like doing.

    I think I am game for a nap too, lol…

    • I was just filling in for a while. Once the girls come back from their three-week break, there will be new house parents. I got a few hours beak last night, and then I’ll have a break from the 15th till the 21st, and then a week and a half off after the 24th. Yay! Then I’ll go back to just doing the recreation times and filling in for house parents occasionally.

Leave a Reply

