He gave me rain

So today was kind of a hard day. Ok, I take it back. It was a very hard day.

I took my sister to meet up with my parents; we had lunch and then I traded her off to them. She went home, and I headed back for work. Then the hardest part of my day came.

Sometimes you have to do things in life that really hurt. Things you don’t want to do. But you know you need to. Still hurts. Then sometimes other things happen to make it even more hurtful.

But two things happened later this evening:

The storm came in. The sky darkened, the lightning signaled, the thunder spoke. And the rain came.

There’s a certain kind of ice cream I love. I can almost never find it at Wal-Mart. I found it today at 7-11 which almost never has anything. I was going to go to McDonalds for an M&M McFlurry. That sounded better. But something told me to go to 7-11. There it was. My ice cream.

I came home. I went outside. It was raining. A real rain, not the pathetic sprinkle that we most often get in Texas. And it got heavier. And harder. And I knelt on the ground and cried. And prayed. And cried some more. I let the rain wash away my tears. I let it cleanse me, in the ways I really needed.

Most of all, I let rain tell me something. The ice cream said it first, but then the rain confirmed it.

God sees me. He loves me. And tonight, he wanted to make sure I knew those were gifts from Him.

*Explanation: I have a history with rain. I grew up in a country where it rained all the time. Rain is my special gift from God. It ministers to me; to me, it is holy. To read a short post about an experience I had with rain once, click on the following link to go to the original Met in the Rain post.
5 thoughts on “He gave me rain

  1. Aww that’s such a beautiful story. I’ve never looked at rain that way, makes me feel all nostalgic about the monsoons I grew so accustomed to while living in Asia as well.

    • Aw, thank you for your comment! I’m so glad someone else appreciates and has experienced the monsoons of Asia. đŸ™‚ I miss it the rain of Asia, don’t you?!

  2. Pingback: So much on my mind… « Katy’s Little Pencil

  3. Hello Katy,

    A hard down pour can be absolutely lovely and cleansing. It rains a lot here but, not the pounding on the roof that I like.
    I hope everything works out for you with you decision.

Leave a Reply

