Our Story

So I decided to join 20 Something Bloggers. I’m looking forward to meeting other bloggers, reading their blogs, learning, commenting, etc.

I’ve been thinking about blogging a lot lately. I used to blog on Blogger.com. I actually had kind of forgotten about my old blog until I started getting ready to start a new one. I went back to Blogger.com for a bit to look at creating a blog there (although I eventually, obviously, decided to just do one here at WordPress). And lo and behold, I found my old blog. I first started writing it in July 2004, so I was newly 19. I had just learned about blogging and apparently had decided to jump in full force. Right before 2007 started, I moved to keeping a blog at my MySpace page. That’s where the in-between blog was. And now I’m starting right back here.

Blogging is an interesting phenomenon. Why is that we write? For so many of us, it’s therapeutic. It’s a way to get things out and express ourselves. For some of us, it’s a way to help keep friends/family updated on our lives. And for others of us, it’s a way to meet new people. I’m always surprised and honored when people I don’t even know stop by to read my blog and comment. And I admit, I love finding new blogs that I can read.

But I think there’s more to it than those things listed above. There’s something about putting our lives out there for people to see. Whether it’s a whole picture of your life or just a part of you that you like sharing, we all want to share our story. We want to connect with others. We want to see life happen and show life happening. As I ended my piece of scratch fiction Friend Request on my writing blog: “No one’s life should be invisible.”

I think blogging is, in part, our way of making sure someone can witness our story.

For you other bloggers…why do you blog?

4 thoughts on “Our Story

  1. I started blogging to keep up with friends and mostly because I was bored… and somehow little by little I started expanding my blogs and focusing on certain things. This could easily be seen by looking at my earlier blogs vs the ones I post now. I use to post all the time about what I was doing but it never really told who I was. Now I am kinda the opposite… I post who I am, what I dream about, how I am challenged but not so much that I watched an awesome movies last night or ate a pint of awesome cookies and cream ice cream – those are nice things but they offer little or no depth.

    Of course, sometimes I do write about what I am doing or things I like, they just are not as frequent. Plus, I figure real friends will know these things if we hang out or if they ask about it, how I am doing and what I have been up to lately.

    • Thanks for the input Daniel! I agree, I share many of your reasons for blogging. And yes, isn’t it interesting how are blogs evolve over time?

  2. The “quarter life” crisis started to hit me in January, and I had no idea what to do about it. I read some books about the subject, and suddenly I had the need to sort of tell my story and write about anything that came to my mind. I started blogging because I felt I had something to say… and it has helped me a lot since then. I open my blogger account last year but intil now I’m actually writing at least twice a week.

    • Awesome! What a great reason to start blogging. Well, not necessarily having a crisis, but to tell your story…to write whatever you’re thinking. Very cool. Blogs can be so therapeutic, can’t they?

Leave a Reply

