The Rescue – and the unsung children

I’m just typing this as it is newly forming in my head, so bear with me.

I’m watching Invisible Children’s THE RESCUE live HERE. For those of you who don’t know (and I only have novice information), Invisible Children spreads awareness and helps save child soldiers in Africa. THE RESCUE has been an effort in cities across America…well, this article can explain it a little better than I. In short, groups of people gather in cities asking for a major person of media influence to come “rescue” them in efforts to raise awareness of all the children who have been abducted and need rescuing.

Please read here a poem I wrote, “Invisible Children: Child Soldiers,” on my writing blog.

I don’t really know what I’m trying to say. I just know that I am incredibly moved. You know what moves me more, though? The millions of children who aren’t given a voice. The children who aren’t being sung for. The children who need greater saving, in different ways, and no one sings for them. They have yet to have a march, to have their plight spread all over Twitter. And it breaks my heart.

The Rescue is incredible. It is such a needed effort. The world is huge, and you cannot save everyone. All you can do is see a need, start somewhere, and make a difference. Invisible Children is doing exactly that, and I love, applaud, and support what they do.

Even as I do, my heart cries for the children who aren’t being sung about yet. Who will start that movement? Who will care for them? We are supposed to have a heart for the lost: the child soldiers, those who need shoes, and those who need clean water. Others need medical supplies, others need homes and parents…and so many more desperately need to hear a Name they’ve never heard, to see Him lived out in loving lives. There are songs yet to be written for these children, organizations yet to be founded for them, movements yet to be begun…maybe something as small as a prayer that’s yet to be said. Every movement began with a person, an idea. We can be the change that needs to happen. What are the causes yet to be thought of? Where are the champions yet to stand up for these children, the people in this world? Could they be right in front of a laptop…reading this blog, writing it?

Could it be me?
Could it be you?
Could we be the champions one child is waiting for?

3 thoughts on “The Rescue – and the unsung children

  1. 27Religion that God our Father accepts as pure and faultless is this: to look after orphans and widows in their distress and to keep oneself from being polluted by the world. – James 1:27

    That verse has been running through my mind a lot lately… even with all the other stuff going on in my life it is still ringing in my ears. Is it there to inspire me, for passion, the first thoughts of a mission, a ministry, a movement? Who knows… but the way the church is going, the way humanity is eating away at itself from the inside-out, our only chance is to begin to care, to be concerned, and help others. And I say this with 1,000 fingers pointed at myself as well.

    p.s. – I didn’t get a notification last time I think because I did not check the check-box, this time I did so I think it should work.

    • Daniel, thanks for commenting! That’s an excellent verse to add to this post. Very convicting, isn’t it? I loved what you said: “the way the church is going, the way humanity is eating away at itself from the inside-out, our only chance is to begin to care, to be concerned, and help others.” So true! Great comment with excellent stuff to add.
      PS–Hope you get the notification this time!

Leave a Reply

